Abstract art

Need a second opinion? Post your work here for constructive criticism...

PostAbstract art

by catherinecreaney » Wed Apr 21, 2010 10:03 pm

[url=http://www.mybannermaker.com]Image

Hi new abstract painting I've created, would appreciate any views :)

[/url]
Paradise Lost for f.jpg
Paradise Lost for f.jpg (168.45 KiB) Viewed 8841 times

http://www.catherinecreaney.com
catherinecreaney
Forum Newbie

PostRe: Abstract art

by wendyhyde » Sat Apr 24, 2010 11:02 am

Hello Catherine, nice to know you!

I am a new artist to this site also joining last week. I saw your work posted in the critiques corner Paradise Lost Abstract.

I would say I prefer your other work particularly 'White Square' and Focus . I like the strength of the marks and the space in them, which allows the eye to 'rest'.
When I get used to using this site, I will post some of my work on here (abstract expressionist) and you can give me your own critique. It is always good to be in touch with other artists.!
I admire your technical skill with your portraiture - out of interest which type of work gives you the most satisfaction ?
Hope this is of use - remember each person is affected differently by each piece of work - be true to yourself
All the best Wendy :P
wendyhyde
Forum Newbie

by catherinecreaney » Sun Apr 25, 2010 1:34 pm

[url=http://www.mybannermaker.com]Image

Thanks for the comments Wendy. I would say both my styles of art satisfy me in different ways. I think I get more of an instant satisfaction from abstraction as it dosnt take so long to create and more of a pride and huger satisfaction from my realism, as it takes so much skill and time to produce. Both fulfill different parts of my personality and creativity in different ways. One expresses colours and emotions more, one expresses emotions too but also more my intellectual side and need to convey a scene or human face with its emotions and expressions.

I must have a look at your work too, I bet its skillful