Artists Hindsight

Discuss anything and everything art related with other forum members

PostArtists Hindsight

by PHATZILLA » Tue Feb 05, 2013 1:16 pm

Hello all,as an artist myself,I have been recently pondering how we know what we would like to paint,before paint hits the canvas.I would be very interested in all your thoughts and replys,as am a little facinated by our thought processes in our art.Thankyou for your attention/Patrick
PHATZILLA
Forum Newbie

PostRe: Artists Hindsight

by Wendy » Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:00 pm

Hi Patrick,

Wow, the six milion dollar question!!!! I guess its different for everyone but for me my ideas are pretty random and shift like the wind; a cloud that floats by, a colour combination, an interesting shape, a place I would like to visit, an emotion, a memory of days gone by, a season, etc etc. When staring at a blank canvas ready to do battle, my predominent thought is whether or not I would want the finished artwork on my own wall. To muddy the waters even further. At times I am quite happy to let the brush take me on a journey that I hadn't planned, but at other times we fall out big time. This dysfunctional relationship has on occasions led to some of my best work.
(If my psychiatrist is reading this post, I gave up LSD and magic mushrooms last week!!!!!!)
Really love your work by the way. Very honest and imaginative.
Wendy
Wendy
Forum Newbie

by PHATZILLA » Wed Feb 06, 2013 1:28 pm